new mill options

carmen43p

Registered
Registered
Hi, newbie here, first post so here goes. Im retired and want to try hobby machining, since i cant do both, which option would be better, powered axis (3), or dro (3)?
Thanks for any comments and/or thoughts

Carmen

DRO, three axis feed is over kill for a hobbyist. X becomes necessary as you get accustomed to the machine, Y and z, well, I've gotten along without them for 4 years, having spent 30 years in the trade with power X And Z, but rarely Y. When I started, in the early '70s, it was all hand feed in the tool room., production, on the other hand was automated, operators just cleared jams.

T,
Thanks for the responce, it appears in your experience, neither option is necessary at this point for me.
Appreciate your input.
Carmen

DRO is a nice option to have. A bit pricey pre-installed, cheaper if you install it yourself
Nothing wrong with learning how to use the conventional dials though
Which machine have you been looking at? New? Used?
Mark

I think the general opinion around here is that you should buy the biggest baddest you can afford or fit into your space.

Otherwise you’ll buy the cheapest and find out it’s not big enough later on. Then you’ll be upgrading to a bigger machine

DRO. Then later, if you feel the need, add a power feed if you're so inclined. I am strictly a hobby-type and have a power feed on the X-axis and on the knee (Z-axis).

I will admit though that the power feed on the knee is more for setups/tooling changes than anything else. :)