New PM 1340GT Lathe & PM 833T Mill

Bill Kirkley

Registered
Registered
Greetings all! I am new to the forum. I am a hobbyist. I've been dabbling in the world of machining on and off for about 35 years. I mainly design and make tools and gadgets for personal use.

About 9 years I took my first of many blacksmithing classes. I enjoy smithing as a hobby as well.

As the title of the thread indicates I purchased two machines from Precision Matthews. It has taken about a week to get everything set up and running. The staff at PM are quick to answer questions and concerns.

My only issue with the lathe is the cross feed dial is graduated in 2 thousands increments. I assumed it would be in thousands. The DRO compensates for this draw back. I may have overlooked it, but I did not find this mentioned in their description of the machine.

My only problem with the mill was that my interstate collets would not fit. The staff at PM came up with several solutions that didn't work. They said I could send the spindle and they would check it out. Needless to say I had no desire to dismantle the machine!

I felt the problem was that the upper end of the R8 cavity was under sized by 1 - 2 thousands. So, I increased the ID of the upper end of the spindle's R8 cavity 1 - 2 thousands. That fixed the problem. Here is a link to a video showing the fix:

Over all I think they will be great machines. I'm planning my first project.

3C8C74A8-6C5D-402E-9BFA-85A04ACC85FD.jpeg

Welcome, I applaud your chioice of tooling, I have smaller versions, 10-30 lathe and PM 25 mill. I consider myself lucky to have found this board and PM tools.

I also have a 1340GT, and didn't even notice the cross slide dial until someone here brought it up. Then I completely forgot about it until you mentioned it again here.

I have had DROs on my machines for a number of years now and never look at dials anymore. ;)

T Bredehoft, how do you like your mill? Will it handle milling 1/4" slots in 3/16" steel?