New smaller lathes (12x36 or 40) and mills ???

Dogdoc

Registered
Registered
Ok, I am a novice hobby machine tool user. I mainly do hobby gunsmithing and parts for some of my farm equipment. I currently have an Enco 110-2034 12x36 lathe with a Baldor USA motor. It is more accurate than I can be but I am just a beginner. I actually purchased this lathe new in about 2003 and used it for a few years then life got in the way and I am just now getting back into the hobby. I hope to learn much from this forum. While I am fine with my equipment for now, I am curious what brands or specific lathes or mills are considered good these days. I always read that one should buy some OLD American equipment but it may worn out or starved for parts or ,even more likely, be unavailable in a timely fashion. I think all the smaller lathes like I have are imports now? If so which ones are considered the good ones. I am thinking 5 or 6 thousand dollars but even without those constraints what are the so called well thought of brands? Thanks

Dogdoc

I read these posts about issues with mills other than Bridgeports or their clones, and am happy that I did not get anything smaller. It seems to me that basically all clones of Bridgeports are equivalent. If I'm wrong, I would appreciate some education?