New To Machining And Looking For An Opinion On A Lathe

Flathead red

Registered
Registered
I am new to machining and want to get my first lathe. I was looking at one on eBay that is local to me. The item number is 321689023707. I passed on it as it had no tooling with it. I'm looking for opinions if anyone is able. Thanks

Red

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I want to add that there are no change gears and one three jaw chuck. He was asking $550 or best offer. I offered $425 but declined his counter as the research I had done tells me for that amount there should be more there.

Red

I'm not sure what you are asking opinions on?

You didn't buy the lathe in the auction so.......

I probably would have also passed on that one if that's what you're asking. Too much for what you were getting IMHO. Not too much by a lot, but still too much.

A lot depends on your intended useage and the market local to your area.

I recently spend 1000 on an Atlas TH42 (10x42) but it came with a decent amount of tooling, was big enough to cover my uses and my local market is pretty "thin" for used lathes....

That lathe looks like an Atlas 6x18, for a hair over that price and shipping you could get a new grizzly 7x14. It comes with a 3 jaw, faceplate, toolpost, centers, and steady rest. Besides the plastic change gears (Which might be a great project, making aluminum ones!) I think it would be a good deal. Sometimes those older small lathes can really be trouble, if you can't spend a lot of time tuning them up. (If in fact they need it)

Might be worth taking a look at, even if you do go for an older Atlas. http://www.grizzly.com/products/7-X-14-Variable-Speed-Benchtop-Lathe/G0765