New To Machining With A Question

boostin53

Registered
Registered
Hi y'all! This will be a sort of long first post, so please bare with me as I'm totally new to all of this. Been browsing this site for a few weeks now in preperation to begin a new hobby/addiction (machining). I decided to start small with a Jet BD-920N lathe that I got for a very good price. The lathe came with a bunch of extra stuff and including some basic tooling. It was too good to pass up considering it was basically free.

I have been practicing facing and reducing on bolts and some scrap 1/2" steel bar stock of unknown to me metal from work. Today I decided to face and center drill a 12" length. I started by only hanging about an inch and a half out of the chuck, faced and center drilled. I then put in my live center on the tailstock and extended the work piece out.

I began turning down the steel to my desired diameter of .415". While confirming measurments during the turning process, I noticed some variations on the measurments. The front half measures in at .416" while the back half measures in at .427". I then thought maybe I didnt turn in my tailstock enough to support my work, causing some slop. But it was good and tight. So to wrap this essay of a post up, what can I do to eliminate this and get the same diameter on the entire length I'm turning?

Last edited:
What does the middle measure? Depending on your lathe it could be your tailstock is not truly centered. It could the offset is passed center cutting a taper. Also for stock that long take light cuts to keep the it from flexing on you. Good to learn you are practicing on bolts and scrap steel.