New (to me anyway) HF 33686 - my first mill

Tomzo

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
Well the Craigslist Gods bestowed upon me this HF 33686 column mill - my first. I had used a huge Bridgeport in my youth working summers in my dad's factory so I have some experience. Came with a bunch of R8 collets, a bunch of tooling that is barely used, a so-so vise, and some other miscellaneous tooling. I have read all about the issues with Z axis control with these column mills but this is a lot more mill than I could fit into my shop space any other way.

I was wondering if moving to the use of ER32 collets instead of the R8 collets would be a good idea or not. The way I see it the process of changing these out may be simpler than dealing with the drawbar every time. Of course, my inexperience here leaves me without much to go on. Does anyone have any experience along these lines?

Also, does anyone have any advice on a not too spendy DRO for a mill of this class?

Thanks in advance

TomIMG_2431.jpg

Nice score. I have one of these and while there are some limitations due to the round column, they're still quite capable machines.
I don't think I would bother with ER collets, R8 will do much the same and not require an additional tool or Z height. I have ER40 for my lathe, but on the mill I just use them for work holding. Maybe I'm just used to it, but the drawbar doesn't seem like it's any more hassle than a collet wrench. You can get a spline wrench to hold the spindle while you loosen the drawbar, but I haven't found it necessary.
No DRO, so can't comment on that.

I have a Touch DRO with iGaging scales on my mill like yours. It is awsome and probably the lowest cost DRO available. I bought the kit form and built it myself. It really makes the mill a pleasure to use. I had to do some tinkering to get the noise bugs out, but now it is solid, dependable, and accurate. Lots of supporting information available on this forum.