New to me lathe with milling attachment

kiwi_007

Registered
Registered
I have been chasing this lathe for over 12 months and recently the deal finally got concluded and this lathe now resides (temporarily) at work.
It is a Peerless PL 36-910 which is a 1970's vintage with the small 27mm spindle hole, and by the looks of it has hardly been used, but does suffer from sun fade.

There is a mark (flaking) in the bed up by the chuck, looking at it it looks like the bed is chromed and some of the chrome has flaked away, has anyone else noticed that the bedway on these Taiwanese belt drive lathes were chromed?

It also came with the steadies, faceplate, 4 jaw chuck and some hss steel tooling, oh and it is the first and only one of these I have seen with a milling attachment.

The lathe is 3 phase and the milling attachment is single phase, I am unable to run the lathe because I don't have the key for the electrical switch on top of the electrical panel so may have to bypass that to get the lathe to run.
Before I try running it i may need to do a bit of lubing to make sure everything still turns, I found the threading indicator was seized with dried lube.

I bought this lathe for a specific reason, and when I was looking at all the info I could find on the Taiwanese belt drive lathes I found that there were a few changes over the years, from a 27mm spindle hole to a 38mm spindle hole, and from a 2MT tailstock to a 3 MT, there were other differences like increased swing. Lathes.co.uk has quite a good write up about the various changes that happened during the evolution of this lathe.