Newbie Here

dragos28

Registered
Registered
Hey guys I'm new to the machining world. I do some welding and simple fabrication. However I've stated making some parts for my off road group but I've been having a hard time as I've been making them by hand with a hand grinder using an aluminum wheels.
Needless to say they aren't looking too pretty.

6ba94d1ad0bcf3b4b9323a21f95a9e7d.jpg

b3fbf1d2c2ade6067e7739de66c02d95.jpg

055941933cf86009eb75fa773be4c972.jpg

I purchased a lms3990

Even though I've never used a mill, I'm assuming that it will allow me to make these pieces uniformly and consistent.

Any suggestions for the ultra newbie.

I think my question that i'm trying to ask is:
i'd like to make multiple pieces like the ones pictured above.

what is the most efficient process to do so on a manual mill.
what sort of bit/end mill would i use to remove/cut the aluminum?
what's the best process, do i draw out the line on my piece and eyeball where the milling bit cuts?

I'm assuming i will have to rotate the piece to make the different cuts, is there any way i could make this design without having to rotate the piece?
Accuracy is not a huge factor on this design, but I do have to make them in pairs, which will be a mirrored design so they need to be uniform.

thanks in advance, i've tried to read all about milling and have been watching hours of yt videos, but 99% of them are about milling on a solid block of aluminum.

I would use a vise stop or even make a fixture to locate the parts so that you can do the same operation on each part without changing setups. A quick sketch with dimensions will help a lot.