Newbie - Just Joined - Bought a New Mill

Nyala

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,

At 70 years old I'm a newbie. I inherited a South Bend Model C 9" lathe from my machinist father. Small but accurate and very nice since he rebuilt it. He gave me lessons before passing. I also have all of his old equipment. I have made a number of items on the lathe that were for personal use and very much enjoy working with metal. To expand my horizons and have something new to sink my teeth into and get excited about, a few minutes ago I ordered a new Precision Matthews, PM-25MV mill, with 3 axis DRO.

I have been a lurker here for a few weeks, gleaning your ideas and thoughts regarding this mill as I waited to pull the pin and order one. Thanks to all of you, I believe that I'm ready for setup. Then a steep learning curve will begin. I don't know anything about a DRO but I have repeatedly watched a number of videos.

I don't have any projects in mind. I'll wait until I semi-learn how to use this thing before worrying about that. Everything that I would do with this would strictly be for personal use. I'm retired and don't plan on going back to work. I have no interest in setting this up as a CNC. It will be just me, turning dials and creating something that I might like. A small time home hobbyist.

I hope you don't mind but I might need to pick your brain from time to time as I learn what's what.

As for now, I am looking forward to the arrival of my mill.

Thank you.

Denny

Welcome aboard Denny! :)

We'll be happy to help out with any questions you have.

Welcome. You'll fit right in here.

Bill (another 70 year old semi-novice)

You will enjoy your PM25. I grew up (professionally) with a variety of large milling machines, have had my 25 for at least three years and find it adequate for my puttering. Don't expect it to equal a Bridgeport, etc. You will like the DRO, though it saves a lot of headaches.