Newbie to H-M forums with question about oil leaker Atlas mill

DarylJ

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone,
Newbie here, this my first post to H-M forums. Having recently acquired an Atlas M1C mill that needs a bit of attention before putting it back into operation after an unknown period of inactivity, I found this site and am hoping to learn from the experts here as I become familiar with this little bench top mill. No photos of it have been taken yet, as it was just unloaded into my shop a couple days ago. But, will be taking pics soon though, and can post as necessary.

So, first on the agenda with this little guy was to lube where required, beginning with oil to the spindle bearings. Squirted some oil into the oilers, then spun the spindle manually. Seemed fine, turned smooth and freely. Then......after under a minute I see oil seeping out from the spindle bearing directly behind the arbor driver. The seeping continued until a small puddle collected on the horizontal flat section directly below and outboard of the bearing, behind the arbor driver. My conclusion is: I over-oiled the bearing. Otherwise, I shouldn’t be seeing this amount of leakage, correct? Is this leakage to be expected as normal if too much oil is squirted into the oilers?