Non-perpendicular Cross Slide?

Johnwright

Wannabe machinist
Registered
While reading a thread on parting, regarding a concave surface left on the parted piece, a member questioned: "Do you get a perfectly flat surface when facing the end of a bar? If not could be the cross slide is not travelling 100% perpendicular to the lathe axis." My question is now, if the cross slide is not traveling perpendicular, then what can I do About it on my 9 X 20 lathe? I'm just a newbie about all this. jw

Well…is it not flat when you face? IMHO, it’s more like the parting operation left you with a not flat surface. And that observation is a common problem when parting. A sharp tool, properly square up and the cutting edge on center is a good start for set-up…Good Luck, Dave.

Hi,

I'm not sure what standards are used in manufacturing your import lathe but American lathes are set up so that the cross-slide intentionally cuts slightly concave. Not much, of course, and I cannot recall the amount at present. You could likely Google the topic and find a quantitative value.

There is good reason for this, by the way, consider mating two faced parts that might be slightly convex - a good joint could not be achieved. In the same situation, concave surfaces would mate properly.

Insofar as what you can do about it, my recommendation would be: nothing, leave it alone. Making the cross slide absolutely perpendicular to the spindle axis requires skills that you probably don't possess at this stage of your development, no offense.

Hi,

American lathes are set up so that the cross-slide intentionally cuts slightly concave. Not much, of course, and I cannot recall the amount at present.
I would be interested in knowing where you have seen this published.

I would be interested in knowing where you have seen this published.

Well, here for one:

"I do notice that on the Prentice Brothers inspection chart they say the the lathe should face .001 “ low or concave in the center."