Not your usual project - but something you might find interesting.

jpdenver

Registered
Registered
Greetings from Denver, CO.

I am a semi-retired electrical engineer that started working with a Sherline Lathe and Mill about 10 years ago.
Most of my projects have been in small scale steam - model boats (RC) etc.

As I reach "fuller retirement" I started looking for a longer term project that would occupy my time.

I have chosen to construct a reasonable replica of the 1899 Locomobile Model 1 Stanley Stanhope.

I have started a comprehensive build log:
https://poppapope-steamcar.blogspot.com/

I just thought some of you might find it interesting to follow.

Regards to all,
JPDenver
1899 Locomobile advert.jpg

Very ambitious build. I love your workmanship. I'll be following regularly.

I drove one of those around a city block once in Petaluma Ca. It was a side tiller model rather than the front tiller shown, which, due to steering geometry had a tendency to oversteer and flip over on turns. The car belonged to my friend Bill Marsh.

Thanks for the kind response. I will post some pictures here as I go along but the details will be in my blog.

The Side Tiller models came out as the Model 2, I think that there was a lot of "Borrowing of Patents" during
this time and they may have needed to change from the center tiller to avoid issues with others.

Regards to all -

Jim Pope
JPDenver
Denver, CO
USA

Thanks for the kind response. I will post some pictures here as I go along but the details will be in my blog.

The Side Tiller models came out as the Model 2, I think that there was a lot of "Borrowing of Patents" during
this time and they may have needed to change from the center tiller to avoid issues with others.

Regards to all -

Jim Pope
JPDenver
Denver, CO
USA