OT - Anyone Still Using A Radial Arm Saw

Finally finished putting the saw back together today complete with a new 36'x 48" top for the table. It took nearly as long to make the adjustments to square the saw head and table as it did to put all the mechanicals back together. It's amazing how much sap/rosin, crud, and saw dust can accumulate over 45 years.

After a few test cuts I cleaned up my mess and put away all the tools. Now that the saw is finished I'll move onto the next in a long list of must do's so I can navigate through the shop without stumbling over parts and pieces of current and past projects. Some of the projects that seemed pressing at the time I started them have sat so long I can't even remember why I started them. If the cool windy wet weather stays around for the whole next week as the weather man predicts I should be able to finish those that still seem relevant and discard those that no longer need completion.

For what it's worth, I am a pretty good woodworker. I have a Bosch compound miter saw. Wouldn't have anything else. I even have a wood stove but still wouldn't have a RAS. Pretty much worthless unless you are doing rough carpentry, or you just like old machines that are somewhat dangerous. Yeah, I know that covers pretty much all of our machines.

My friends call me "The Wood Butcher".

The first picture is a jewelry armoire that I made for each of my daughters (3 total). The third and 4th picture is a little jewelry thingy I made for our foreign exchange girl. It now resides in Germany. The last picture is a stereo cabinet I built probably 30+ years ago.

Attachments

• IMG_3008.JPG
    IMG_3008.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 10
  • IMG_3007.JPG
    IMG_3007.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 10
  • IMG_20121212_105545.jpg
    IMG_20121212_105545.jpg
    855.7 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_20121212_105607.jpg
    IMG_20121212_105607.jpg
    761.2 KB · Views: 10
  • DSC_0267.JPG
    DSC_0267.JPG
    858.2 KB · Views: 10