parting

geraldsd

Active User
Registered
I'm brand new at this and am making a few chips. I have made a part for a gun. I am making a tool and am parting 1" bar stock. My parting tool chatters extremely easily. What am I doing wrong? Should I turn it slowly or fast?

Hi ,
I am new too.

When I was parting a part on Sunday I had to re think my set up by asking myself and just going over the basics in my head.

1) is your parting cutter sharp?
2) is it at the correct cutting height for your part ?
3) are you using any or the best type of cutting oil or lube?
4) best rpm for aluminum ?

After re thinking things I got it working nicely.
I had to sharpen my cutter and found I was using the wrong oil.
(WD-40 works great for Aluminum)

I am parting mild steel. I sharpened the cutter first. The cutter is slightly below the center line. It is also square. I am using oil. I Have a SB 9A and am turning at the slow setting. I had some Remoil (remington gun oil that I was using while cutting.

Hi ,
I am new too.

When I was parting a part on Sunday I had to re think my set up by asking myself and just going over the basics in my head.

1) is your parting cutter sharp?
2) is it at the correct cutting height for your part ?
3) are you using any or the best type of cutting oil or lube?
4) best rpm for aluminum ?

After re thinking things I got it working nicely.
I had to sharpen my cutter and found I was using the wrong oil.
(WD-40 works great for Aluminum)

I am parting mild steel. I sharpened the cutter first. The cutter is slightly below the center line. It is also square. I am using oil. I Have a SB 9A and am turning at the slow setting. I had some Remoil (remington gun oil that I was using while cutting.