Planning to get a Sherline 4410 and 5410; help with accessories/etc. guidance, please?

lagweezle

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I'm a complete noob at the machining world, but I've been doing a huge amount of reading and research. I've gone through Tabletop Machining by Joe Martin, The Home Machinist's Handbook by Doug Briney, and have sort-of read a number of the Workshop Practice Series books (Lathework a Complete Course, and Milling a Complete Course, both by Harold Hall). You get the idea.

Small mechanical devices, gear trains, air-engines, functioning models, etc. and the odd improvement / replacement part for things about the apartment are the likely uses for the machines. Given the small size, ability to pack them away for storage to some degree, and the ability to get some pretty astounding precision while also working with most available materials, Sherline machines are what I'm planning to get. It seems like it offers a huge amount of possibilities while being about as apartment friendly as one could hope for.

Related, since I live in a second floor apartment with dogs, grinding my own cutting tools is something I'll need to leave for some time in the future as it just doesn't seem worth the necessary space expenditures and acrobatics necessary to ensure areas stay safe and clean for the dogs, nieces, etc. So, I've been looking at the insert tooling and tools from A.R. Warner Company since I won't be grinding stuff any time soon, but knowing which I should pick is ... proving problematic.

General plans are to figure out how things work manually, first, and then move into some CNC as well. I'm a software dev for my "real job", so the programming portion is definitely not concerning. Also took a few drafting courses (by hand in middle school, also in college before moving on to AutoCAD) and have done some things with Fusion 360 and 3D printers, so I figure I'll do okay there.