Plug Explanation

TORQUIN

Registered
Registered
I just bought a surface grinder and it had a 20A, 3 phase (4 conductor) plug. I use a 3 phase, 20A, 4 conductor plug for my old surface grinder. When I compared the two plugs I found they are different. The one I use has a smaller spade circle then the one that came with the new grinder and new grinder's plug has the lock lug on a different spade then the plugs I use. I purchased the plugs and sockets I use from Lowes/Home Depot. I have not been able to find info on the internet to tell me what's the reasoning behind this different size/configuration between these 20A, 3 phase, 4 conductor plugs.
Can someone explain to me what's going on here?

The two plugs, a new one I just bought on the left, identical to the ones I already use in the shop, and on the right, the plug that came with the new grinder.
2020-10-11 17.51.42-33.jpg

Thanks,
Chris

I'm no electrician, but here's an attempt to explain.

The L14-20 (orange) plug on the left is actually designed for "center tapped" 230V AC single phase. The center tap allows you to take 115 volts as needed. See http://www.generatorsforhomeuse.us/l14-20/

The grey-faced plug on the right is an "official" 3 phase connector. Note that is it's labeled "3øY" on the face. Both of these connectors are rated for 20 amps.

The fact that the L14-20 has 4 lugs makes it usable on 3 phase power, and I'm sure it's commonly used for such. But they're designed to be different for safety reasons - so that you don't try plugging a 3 phase machine into a single phase 230V outlet (or vice versa)

Notice that the next thread in this section, https://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/wiring-my-3-phase-lathe-to-my-rpc.87560/ that the discussion is about L15-30 and L15-20 connectors. Both of these are are marked for 3 phase, 15 and 30 amps, respectively.