Pm-1340gt Vs Pm-1440gt

dogma

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have been researching my first, possibly last, lathe purchase for a couple of months. I thought I had settled on a 1340GT and contacted Matt @ QMT last week. It was a fantastic pre-sales experience and Matt pointed me at this forum to research VFD conversion options. This led to the discovery of @mksj's proximity sensor setup and that we live in close proximity. @mksj was extremely generous and invited me over to view his setup yesterday (and endured a couple of hours of my naive questions -- for which I am extremely grateful). As I was leaving, Mark mentioned that the PM-1440GT was shipping soon... After viewing the 1440GT spec sheet, this set me to wondering if I need to better define my lathe requirements. I've made a simple spreadsheet attempting to compare the the two machines "by the numbers".

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15LhsoYRhdKQnq4hONc795D3LZFY7TPZd-HZoRTGIYiM/edit?usp=sharing

The 1440GT has 34% mass and 50% more power in approximately the same size envelope for a 35-40% cost premium. However, there are some trade offs. The bore is larger but the distance through the headstock is also 1.75" longer. The 1340GT can cut a larger range of imperial threads and smaller imperial metric threads. The 1440GT has much faster feed rates and considerably and a whopping 2.25" greater clearance over the cross slide.

The extra weight, and hopefully rigidity, of the 1440GT sound attractive to me but I am firmly in the unknown-unknown phase of learning to run a lathe. I'm sure that either machine would exceed my needs but this is purchase that I may live with for decades -- I'd like to make the best choice among the available options. I don't have well defined, or really any, requirements for threading capability. Either machine is within my budget but going with the 1440GT would mean deferring all but very basic tooling for a month or two.