PM-1440GT, Taking the plunge, final answer?

oregontripper

Registered
Registered
At least some questions prior to making the BIG for me order.

I have decided to skip the 1440GS, gearbox and COO mainly.

1. Plan to order the 3-phase unit. With this forum's approved VFD, is it super easy to, at least initially, just hook up to run? (Just to supply the third leg?)

2. How's the tool post PM sells for it? I'm a newb, however, I prefer to avoid buying with the intent of upgrading later. (Hence getting this awesome machine.) I have one reference that says it's plenty fine....

3. PEP package for sure. Pretty certain I want the $400 4-jaw chuck offered, correct? Good stuff?

4. How about the ulra precision keyless drill chuck, good stuff, right? (The one for $130.)

5. OMG, DRO! Cheapest one, will it matter? Self install? Or? I have a new to me mill and I can surely d&t. Precision? Hmmm.

6. The micrometer stop doodad. Is that purely mechanical and trips the clutch? Sorry, been meaning to figure that out. One of the awesome mods I hope to make is adding the electronic stop for use when threading. Do I need this $100 stop?

7. My lathe book is coming, I'll need a live center too?

8. I have nit-picked every detail and my only gripe is that the cross slide scale blocks the cs lock. For $10k I'd figure that'd be engineered out after several years. Pretty minor. Surely there's more? LOL Gosh, is it really that good?

A couple notes. I think the height will be perfect. Gunsmithing and related tool making is my intent.

Take the plunge?

Thanks to all who have contributed so much here. It's great, really great.

Last edited:
The PM guys will be here shortly.
Welcome

At least some questions prior to making the BIG for me order.

I have decided to skip the 1440GS, gearbox and COO mainly.

1. Plan to order the 3-phase unit. With this forum's approved VFD, is it super easy to, at least initially, just hook up to run? (Just to supply the third leg?)