PM-30 Conversion project

WV Dualsport

Registered
Registered
I know there are several threads here concerning people's experience with buying and converting a PM030mv to CNC using the Centroid Acorn platform. I have read through many of them. I am very new to the conversion process and the equipment required to do such. Is there a good one stop source for what's commonly accepted as required? Ex: what power rated steppers are needed, suggested, overkill, for each axis? Which CNC conversion kit is preferred Arizona99? ProCutCNC?

A definitive list of components needed to complete the conversion would be a great start. I have a Lenovo mini pc running W10 and an Asus 21.5" touchscreen already. I know I need a fairly large enclosure, three (closed loop) steppers, drivers, and power supplies, limit switches, E-stop, etc. I plan to buy the Pro version of the software (with the intention of running the wireless MPG remote).

I guess I'm just looking for some advise on what will work best, with the least headache and hassle for my from scratch build. This will be a winter project (and into the spring). I plan to order the mill withing the next week or so, then start getting components together for the conversion.

Thanks,

Shawn

I know there are several threads here concerning people's experience with buying and converting a PM030mv to CNC using the Centroid Acorn platform. I have read through many of them. I am very new to the conversion process and the equipment required to do such. Is there a good one stop source for what's commonly accepted as required? Ex: what power rated steppers are needed, suggested, overkill, for each axis? Which CNC conversion kit is preferred Arizona99? ProCutCNC?