PM-30MV Casting Imperfections - Is this ok?

fursphere

Registered
Registered
Had to remove the table on my mill to tighten up the Y axis lead screw nut. Thread is here if you're curious

When I got the table off, I found these casting imperfections in the ways on the saddle. I received the machine in Feb 2021, and honestly has barely been used due to me just not having time for it and moving to a new home in May. I'm just now starting to get into it more. I'm rather new to this stuff - I've done a little machine work in the past, but I've never torn a machine down. So I don't know if this is 'acceptable' or something I should be contacting Precision Mathews about and treating it as defective. It doesn't seem like its a huge issue, just a casting defect? But I'm curious what you all think anyway. The table looks fine top and bottom, its just the saddle that seems to be in question.

IMG_4008.jpg

IMG_4009.jpg

I would not be happy to see such a sight; the voids could be filled with epoxy or solder peened in and finished off, I'd like to hear from Richard King as to what he thinks.

Not pretty at all, but I doubt the pitting in areas would pose any problems. I would however be concerned about bumps and high-spots. That IMHO should not have passed QC inspection however. Inform PM and get their take on it, maybe they may offer a resolution?

I won't comment inside a sponsored forum. We pay to have the privilege to answer our product questions, help folks and advertise our products. Ask inside the reconditioning forum and I will give my opinion. If PM owner asked me to comment here I would, if not sorry.

I would not be happy to see such a sight; the voids could be filled with epoxy or solder peened in and finished off, I'd like to hear from Richard King as to what he thinks.

I was thinking something similar.