PM-727M or PM-932M - help me decide

Astronutski

Registered
Registered
Hi guys, complete newb to machining here but have done a lot of reading and youtube watching. This will be my first mill, I've had enough with woodworking, time to grow up and get some serious precision, life is too short.
Anyway, like most, I am very limited in space and $, and I have narrowed my choice down to the PM-727M & PM-932M. I'm just stuck at the "well for only $200 more..." argument and I do like to only buy tools once instead of upgrading later on. I'm hoping some of you may have experience with both models and can comment to which was the better decision for whatever reason. Down the road I'd LOVE to convert this to CNC.
I know, ultimately, I will have to make this decision, but I'd just like to gather some info from y'all.
I guess the only pro for the 727 is the slightly cheaper price tag which is very attractive. I see right now the 932 is out of stock, at least the one I was most interested in, the 932M, no problem, I'm still gathering data.
To answer the "what envelope size do you need?" question, right now I'd have to say, not a clue. I have nothing specific I'm looking to build, but I think I'd like the bigger size "just in case" you know?

My head is all over the place on this, and I'm just looking for some clarity. I know the tooling can be way more than the machine, so that $200 would help a lot towards tooling, but again, I'm back to five years down the road and the inevitable "if I had only spent the extra $200 on the 932 back then.... " dilemma.

Any and all input greatly appreciated. (Also, any advice on how to sell this whole thing to the wife would be awesome ;-)
Thanks,
Bill