PM Mill Accessories

ddickey

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Thinking about buying a PM knee mill.
The accessories I'm considering are the PM 3 AXIS MILL DRO, the X-power feed and the R8 collet set.
Good idea or can I find a better deal on these elsewhere?
I would install these myself.

They are priced about the same as any of the Asian import stuff. Their collets aren't bad for the money but they are not the best.

The easson dro's they sell seem to be good. I like the one on my lathe.

Power feeds I have no experience with, but they look like the higher quality Taiwan manufactured one's.

The DRO was looking at was not an Easson but a PM house brand.

I'm also looking at thier house brand dro post up how it goes if you get it I got the powerfeed with my pm932m and ig love it so far much better than cranking the handle it seems to be the same as all the other Chinese powerfeed you can buy from multiple sellers

I would look at the Easson 12B 3 axis DRO for the mill with a quill battery DRO, you are more likely to use the graphical functions such as bolt circles, etc. It has soft keys which give different functions depending on the menu and the machine mode, and they have a good reputation. A number of forum members have installed the ES-12B on their PM 935 and 949 mills, also the Easson glass scales are a bit better as to their seals, etc. Also the DRO layout, setup functions and instructions are other factors to consider.

Drive wise, it is worthwhile to get an X and Z drive if your budget allows. You might look at the Align drives made in Taiwan, I use them on my mill and a few others have installed them, better switch gear, power and speed range (low speed).

R8 collet set, really depends on the rated specs and what you need, might look at Vertex set. Since you only need a few collets for end mills, etc. I would look at a smaller decent set of R8 collets and some higher quality drill chucks.