PM45 - Moving the head height crank to the front.

I don't have a PM45, so take this as just a brain storm kind of idea (drizzle more like it).
If you could make the crank work like a ratchet, then you could keep the crank and eliminate the table limitation. Use full swing of crank when table is not in the way, and half-moon crank motions (with ratchet action) when table is too close.

Just throwing that out there, not sure if it is anymore practical or doable than the wheel.

Good morning - Hey do the base plates fit flush to the base of the mill. The reason that I ask is that if I use your measurement for the location of the hole for the base plate the is about a 1/4" gap between the base and the mill. This is my first project and it is turning out great.

Thanks,
Woodrow

There is a radius in the corner so the gap is normal. You could radius your part to get it a little closer.

Please post some pictures of your progress!

Gary

I don't have a PM45, so take this as just a brain storm kind of idea (drizzle more like it).
If you could make the crank work like a ratchet, then you could keep the crank and eliminate the table limitation. Use full swing of crank when table is not in the way, and half-moon crank motions (with ratchet action) when table is too close.

Just throwing that out there, not sure if it is anymore practical or doable than the wheel.

I hadn't thought of that, but with my little wheel, I'm not going to invest anymore time into it.

Someone else might take your idea an run with it though.

Thanks,

Gary

Someone asked about the gears I used and I forgot that the part number I supplied on the print is generic.

The complete part number and description is:

Boston Gear L112Y Miter Gear, 1:1 Ratio, 20 Degree Pressure Angle, 0.500" Bore, 16 Pitch, 24 Teeth, Steel

Gary[h=1][/h]

All,