Practice scraping

vettebob

Active User
Registered
I have an old vise I've been beating on for 30 years it has a small flat area I thought I would try scraping for practice. Here are a couple of pics aside from the dents etc. I'd like some advice /tips this is my second attempt at scraping something. It is about 3 x4 inches.DSC00097.JPGDSC00100.JPG

DSC00097.JPG DSC00100.JPG

I was hoping some of the other guys would answer first....The short scrapes look good...it looks like your scraping 90 LLL deg to each other try 45 deg xxx. Blue it up and lets see what it looks like. The pic is 40 PPI done with a Biax Scraper. The chart is one I hand out to my students. That is a handy reference when looking at scraping sq inch.

Rich

40PPI close up.jpg

Attachments

• ScrapingPOPChart.pdf
    3.2 MB · Views: 117
Last edited by a moderator:
Some other comments:

• It looks like you are scraping too shallow, but it's hard to tell from a pic. Try sweeping an indicator over it and see how deep the individual scrapes are. You want at least a few tenths deep on an individual scrape mark.
  • How flat is it? We need a picture of bluing marks to get an idea. I find it tempting to put pretty finish scraping marks down before getting it flat. It's just wasted effort if I isn't flat. Getting it flat calls for bigger, possibly uglier scraping to get it flat. In fact, ugly scraping can be flat an pretty scraping can be no flat. It doesn't have to be that way, though.

I removed about 15 thou with deep scraping to get a lot of the depressions out then tried to use really small strokes to put a nice finish to it. Tomorrow I'll make a couple more passes rebluing it . (I tore out my rotator cuff and can only do a little at a time). I'll have to get a 0-4-0 dti mine only reads 5 tenths. From reading Rich's comments in another thread I think I over stoned it.

Thanks For the advice Guys I appreciate it. Bob

I scraped a little more and left the blueing on for the pic. View attachment 58790