Preventing swarf in the house

Wheat.Millington

Registered
Registered
OK this is going to sound like a silly question but here goes - I'm a beginner machinist with my 12x24 lathe in the garage, which is attached to the house. I was not prepared for the amount of chips and swarf I would produce, and need help with strategies for keeping it out of the house. Even when I'm careful, I still seem to end up with chips embedded in the carpet just inside the hallway. Anyone got any tips and tricks for mitigating this?

I get most of the chips off of me with compressed air. At the door, we have a rough mat with deep holes that helps grab stuff stuck in my shoes. You do have to scrape your feet though. Removing them outside is preferable.

Ferrous metal, a sweeping magnet, for aluminum, pray, it regenerates in the places you thought you cleaned well. :)

This is also a big problem for me. Even carefully cleaning and vacuum, they follow my shoe.

One time, I don't recall how many days I didn't go to the machine room, but we went to a wedding. We slept in a hotel and I woke up finding my eye hurt. I rub it and it was worst. I tried blink in water without help.

We then went to the wedding and reception with a sore eye. It becomes really bad at the reception. I was like crying. I tried hard, maybe few hours after I couldn't handle it anymore , I went to a bathroom and pull down my lower eyelid. A thin strand of something probably is metal poke through the surface flat on the sclera. I pulled it out and I fell much better.

This is also a big problem for me. Even carefully cleaning and vacuum, they follow my shoe.

One time, I don't recall how many days I didn't go to the machine room, but we went to a wedding. We slept in a hotel and I woke up finding my eye hurt. I rub it and it was worst. I tried blink in water without help.