Projects

H

Hukshawn

Forum Guest
Register Today
So, I'm a contractor/carpenter. I've been so for most of my adult life. I've spent my years working in factories when I was younger to find myself and my place in life, and at some point in that road I started doing side jobs. Always had an interest in woodworking (and later in life, metalworking). No one in my family is talented in either of these manners. My step-dad had some tools, a table saw, crappy chop saw, just regular old-guy-needed-stuff-around-the-house stuff. Im sure at some point I tried to cut my fingers off and he yelled at me cause I was always afraid to touch any of it.
Ive lived out on my own since I was about 16. At one point in my 20's I got fired from a 7 year, high up operator/employee/supervisor unionized position factory job, and life promptly fell apart. Lost my apartment, long term girlfriend took off to her mom's for some immature reason, I'm sure, and I moved in with my parents. Instead of sitting around like a bum, (ADHD/high energy) I started tinkering in the garage, and it seemed all at once just started woodworking. Building shaddow tables, occasional tables, coffee tables, etc. It all started with taking an oak occasional table my mom had a copying it.
Pretty much this.
halltbl.jpg

My mom was blown away. She couldn't understand where I learned to do any of that. AND I had all my fingers, toes, and nose, so my step-dad was impressed (impressed might be a stretch, pretty sure he just said to make sure I cleaned up, lol)

Fast forward a very miserable year, I had to get out of my mom's house. Found an apartment, and moved back in with my girlfriend. Her mom owned a dive bar which had a 3 car garage in the back which I promptly took over and started building up a tool collection. Before I knew it, I was taking custom orders for furniture and I had a small business on my hands.