Quality and price

calstar

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm new to the machining world, I know you usually get what you pay for but why, for example, should something like this not be OK for basic beginner set ups? This from the shars 123 blocks:
[h=4]Product description[/h]
  • Size within +/- .0002"
  • Flatness and parallelism within .0002"
  • Squareness on all sides is 0.0003" per inch
  • Pairs are matched to a tolerance of 0.0002"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SHARS-1-PAIR-123-BLOCKS-1-2-3-ULTRA-PRECISION-0002-HARDENED-23-HOLES-/350913989121?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item51b41a8a01

My question includes all types of measuring devices, is it a case of repetibility or...?

thanks, Brian

Even if it not as accurately made as a Starrett or other American brand (and it likely IS as accurate these days), it still may be the most accurately made block in your shop.

Try to also get blocks that have clearance holes on one side and threads on the other. I will look and post for you.
But those are great for that price.

Bernie

If it weren't for Shars, my shop would be half empty. I do perfectly fine with tools in that price-range and category. Furthermore, you'll find that many (if not most) of the name brands are made overseas, made under contract by the same factories. While not everything they sell is on par with the top-dollar equipment, I find it suits my needs just fine. Case in point: The three piece $100 Shars micrometer set I have is just as linear and precise as the three (early 1980's vintage) Starretts given to me by my father. I checked them with the same gauge blocks and got the same readings. He bought them a couple years before he retired and they cost a heck of a lot more than $100 each back then.

Some folks like the feel, weight balance and/or appearance of certain tools. I prefer to adapt to whatever is available, works well and is affordable.

Ray