Quality of 3D printed thread dial

RWanke

Registered
Registered
I am just about done with all the clean-up and painting on mySouth Bend 9C and about all I need parts wise to finish it up is a thread dial. The originals on E Bay are way out of my budget for this project and so I have been looking at the 3D printed ones over there. Does anyone on here have any input as to good or bad traits of using these plastic replicas? Are they reliable as to gear teeth staying engaged, not slipping or jumping teeth, etc. I have zero experience with anything 3D printed so I'm venturing into the total unknown here. Any input or advise/direction would be appreciated.

3d printing materials vary drastically due to the process to print. Even the material strengths very drastically. In my experience of prototyping and production using 3d methods nylon will be the strongest material when printed with SLS-select laser sintering. Any FDM process will be very weak.

Any metal type 3d printing will be more expensive of course. There is a binder jet method that uses stainless steel and bronze which can have good wear characteristics. The stainless bronze mix will be cheaper than aluminum and hold up to abuse.

I would recommend researching:
-what material is used
-what process to print

Any FDM process will be very weak.

FDM Nylon is very strong, I'm prototyping a pistol target rear sight in Nylon and one of my demonstrations to a friend who commented on low strength was to drop it on a concrete floor and stamp on it as hard as I could, five or six times, with the heel of my leather soled shoes.
Result? Light surface marking and no loss of function or measurable distortion.
When playing with my printer to see what it could do I printed functional M5 x 25 bolts in PLA, I'm no weakling but I couldn't snap them with my fingers, I carried one in my pocked for a month and none of my friends or acquaintances could break it with their fingers either.