[4]

Question for you tool lovers

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!
If you had to start over, to replace your equipment and power/hand tools.
How much money would it take?
I need to come up with a budget.
Excluding the lathe and mill, I think at least $25,000 for hand and power tools and another $7,500 for lathe/milling accessories.
New lathe and mill, $18,000.
Welding and plasma, $6,500
What say you?

Comments

Are you talking US dollars? For a hobby machinist? :oops:

If so, I have a lot of catching up to do. :)

Tom

Yes, US dollars.
Remember, I have been buying tools for 45 years. I recently splurged and added another $20,000. Puff-Poof-Pufe-up in smoke!
To replace my base it's going to be expensive.
When my wife and I sit down and go over the budget for our re-born status, I'll need to have some ideas.
Hobby Machinists, is a broad term.
There are guys that are so far ahead of me and a few that are catching up.
That's the beauty of this web site, we can all learn something from each other, well except maybe the Master Machinists on board.

I'd think you're pretty good on your budget. Lots depends on if you buy HF or Snap-On. Interapid dial test indicators are very nice (have 3 of them), but my Chinese no-names haven't given me any trouble for about 1/10th the price. Have fun! Glad to see you are going to rebuild your shop!

Bruce

For a hobby machinist, it should not be so much about how many tools and machines you have, or even about the total capabilities or what you can make in your shop. In my mind, it is about how much you can learn, and how much enjoyment you get from making things. To me, projects are a means, not an end. Size and speed capabilities of the equipment are not all that important. I make stuff that match my resources and my imagination.