[4]

Question on electric motor bearings

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

John TV

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
So still consider myself as green as grass to this whole hobby and there are all kinds of new experiences I have never tried before.

I have a 5 hp. 3 phase motor that is the "idler" motor for my rotary phase converter. It was used when I put it into service and it is a Baldor "drip proof" type motor. I have used it very little and I am getting what I first thought was a harmonic high pitched whine (very anoying) after the motor runs for a minute or two. I now wonder if the bearings are starting to go since a pump of grease will make the sound go away for a while. I have just started to research the replacement of the bearings and here is where my question comes in. I have never ordered or repaced bearings before on anything other than a car or trailer. In my initial look up of the likely size, I am seeing a wide range of types, etc. Is there a thread here I have missed that is a primer on bearing info? Looks like I can spend between $10 and $240 per bearing? Needing some guidance on what level and supplier to use. I most likely will call Baldor and get their parts but it would be nice to have some knowledge before I make a decision. Thanks for your thoughts.

John in Minnesota

tq60

Brass
Registered
Just pull it apart and gm isit a local bearing supplier.

A 10 ish dollar part

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Hi John,
bearings for modern electric motors are most likely measured in millimeters.
ABEC3 is a grade suitable for electric motor use in most instances, this being one of them
your 5 hp motor may have 6305ZZ bearings.
i would suggest using neoprene sealed bearings, as the seals generally make the bearing last longer
if your motor does in fact have 6305 bearings, the designating would be ABEC3 6305SS