Question...

toolroom

Registered
Registered
I have a Waterbury grandfather clock built in early 1900. It stopped and I had it repaired. The horologist returned after 99 days to install the works into the cabinet. I asked about the cleaning and oiling, and he said that you NEVER oil a clock!
I had an older friend, long deceased who was a watchmaker, and we would chat about the differences in our trades (I am a machinist) on wristwatches and pocketwatches he dis assembled cleaned and assembled with a tad bit of extremely light oil.
The question of the day is... Why don't large clocks require oil especially with those very heavy weights, whereas a small timepiece requires oil?
I stopped the clock, never to use it again. Am I being BAMBOOZLED?

I have a 30 year old grandfather clock (young by your standards) that recently quit. A chap who built clocks joined another forum I frequent so I asked him about cleaning and oiling, He thought there would be permanent damage from NOT oiling it in 30 years. He's going to step me through cleaning and repairing it if I ever get to it.

Greg

We have a Young Grandfather clock (20-25 years). It started working erratically a few years back, so I started reading up on them and it all pointed to a good cleaning and oiling.
Which did fix it so far.
It was a real PITA.

Many years ago, in the Physics department of the university that I attended, they had a pint container of whale oil clock oil. Supposedly it was used because it did not have a tendency to polymerize with time as other oils did. It was a very light oil which was used for a certain physics experiment. Needless to say, whale oil would be a very rare commodity these days.