Quiet Clausing 13" lathe

Bill_729

Registered
Registered
I have been attracted to Clausing 13" lathes. I used a lathe in high school, but not since. I like the fact that the Clausing's seem to have high speed (~2000 rpm), compared to others that have been on my radar screen (1400 rpm). As a hobbyist, I don't want one that make so much noise that it's not enjoyable to use without hearing protection. I am also insisting on a QCGB. My budget is $1.5K-5K, preferably not at the upper end of of this, but I would be willing to spend more for a nice machine. I expect this to include standard 3 and 4-jaw chucks and follow and steady rests. Are the models 4914, 5914, etc., all "Loud"? Please help me narrow down the models I should be searching for. Does "Colchester" in the name mean something particular?

Thank you,
Bill_729

I don't have any idea as to how noisy a good condition Clausing lathe is. But I don't think that they made a 13". Such info that I have indicates 10, 12; 14. The Colchesters however do show a 13.

Colchester is or was a British company that Clausing bought sometime after they changed the company name from Atlas to or back to Clausing. My impression of them is that they are generally more expensive than the Clausings. Used equipment prices is of course all over the place but $5K for a 13" Colchester might not get you a steady or follower rest.

$5K for a 13" Colchester might not get you a steady or follower rest.

As a newby machinist, am I greatly underestimating the task of creating one with the assistance of a mill? I have no idea whether this part would normally be hardened. Of course, if it needs to be hardened, that would affect my point of view, but it seems like it would be a "satisfying project". I haven't been searching, but I saw a rest yesterday for $375 on ebay...

Edit: Here's a nice one for $750. Admittedly, it looks "well made".

Bill_729

Last edited: