R8 collet problem

ChipsAlloy!

Active User
Registered
Hello all,

I have cleaned up my PM932 tonight and started checking out the stuff I had ordered with the machine.

I assembled the drill chuck on the arbor and all went well. Runout seems good although I am not a pro at indicating, just trying to get it right.

After that, I found out I cannot insert my R8 collets in the spindle. The alignment pin inside the spindle seems to make contact with the bottom of the slot in the collet.

On the picture below: R8 collet to the left and R8 to MT(?) arbor and chuck to the right.
I measured both shanks are same diameter (24mm)
R8 collet slot is 4mm wide while chuck arbor is 5mm

Milling 013.jpg

On the picture below you can see the slots depths
R8 collet slot is 1,5mm deep while chuck arbor is 3mm deep
Milling 016.jpg

I may have attempted to modify these to fit but since I dont have working collets I cannot really hold my endmills (except in the chuck but doesnt seem to be wise)

These are advertised as having a 10 year warranty so I could just return them to PM

Is there an quick way to fix this or am I better off returning these?

Milling 013.jpg Milling 016.jpg

I had exactly the same problem with the collets I ordered with my PM32. The groove width is not the problem, the depth is too shallow. Might not be a bad idea to send Matt an email so they know about this issue. When I commented on it, they had never heard of the problem before.

Cheers,

John

Last edited:
The keyway is supposed to be .156 wide x .094 deep. If they don't meet the specs. I would return them. I would also make sure that the replacements they send are checked before they go out the door. I don't know where you got them but obviously the qc guy must have been on break when those were packaged. That would be a real bummer if you don't have any other collets to use.

Chuck