Reviving a 15x30 Leblond

Jasteven

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, new member here, trying to make this breif, as I have a long winded nature. I am a once before full-time machinist, returning to the field , this time on my own time/dime, in my own hobby shop. Iv purchased several pieces of equipment recently, but the most recent being a 1970 model year Leblond Regal Servo Shift 15x30. Leblond , being super helpful, sent over the original purchasing/build documents. This is a one owner machine, purchased by a trade school, then purchased by myself. Further inspection has gone rather well, so far no mechanical issues within the headstock, but yet to be powered

This lathe uses a 208v 3ph Delco motor, 60HZ. In leblonds documents, they state 208v plus or minus 10%. Iv recently powered my Microcut 1050 manual mill using a VFD for the first time, but this lathe has a more complex design and unsure if a VFD can be used, or is a rotary phase converter is a better option

Can 220v 3ph be used to power the motor?

Has anyone used a VFD for phase conversion on a servo shift lathe?

Iv found a used rotary phase converter locally, 1ph to 3ph, but is a 7.5hp model. Can a 7.5hp model be used for a 5hp model?

Attachments

• 15654028979471049963698616473885.jpg
    15654028979471049963698616473885.jpg
    58.7 KB · Views: 103
A rotary would certainly work well (use the two real power legs to supply the control transformer). The 220V will be fine for the 208V motor. The 7.5HP rotary will have no trouble with the 5HP lathe motor.