Rewinding a stator

dbassing

Registered
Registered
Hello,
I have an old Master Gearhead motor that needs to have the stator rewound. It is a repulsion-induction motor 1/2 HP 110V single phase. I am thinking that I could do this myself and so have started down this road to learn how to do a rewinding. I have a good idea of the basics and am thinking that if anyone has experience in doing this sort of thing I would be most appreciative if they would chime in and if possible let me post questions here. I hope to do a thread showing the process. It may be a complete failure but I have nothing to lose and I may learn something in the process.

Thanks,
David

I have seen other posts of individuals rewinding older motors to preserve the vintage machinery, not an easy task if done correctly and a learning curve. It is time consuming and costly for a one off job, but a learning exercise. Can't find the post which outlined the process, these are two files that I have specific to this topic, one is for motor rewinding supplies, the other gives some basic information on rewinding.

Attachments

• Motor Repair Supplies Catalog-s.pdf
    11.4 MB · Views: 3
  • Electric Motor Repair Illustrations Study Questions.pdf
    6.6 MB · Views: 4
In the 80's, I worked in a R&D shop that made unique machines and motors. We had a full time "OG" who did nothing but wind/repair and actually design/build to engineers specs from scratch, any electric motor. He learned electric motors in the Navy in which he served for 25 years before he was hired at this shop. He was a great find, he could ask his own price because you just don't find guys like him anymore. As seems to happen so many times with really talented, nice guys, he died at a rather young age before retirement. I really enjoyed just hanging in his corner of the shop when I had time to watch how it's done.