Rohm, Albrecht, Jacobs... keyless chucks

GaryK

In Memory
Rest In Peace
I have only used Albrecht keyless chucks and I have never been in any shop that didn't use them.

Currently I have a 0-3/8" Albrecht that's been working great for over 20 years. I'm not using my mill
all that much so the 20 years is not saying much.

I am looking to get a new 1/2" or 5/8" chuck and I was looking at cheaper alternatives.

Does anyone have any experience with the equivalent Rohm or Jacobs chucks?

How do they compare to an Albrecht?

Thanks,
Gary

Gary, the Rohm chucks are pretty good. They aren't up to the quality of an Albrecht but the one I have is fine for use on my mill or lathe. They hold just as well as my Albrechts and I detect no balance issues at the speeds I use them at. They do not operate as smoothly as an Albrecht but for the price I think a Rohm chuck is hard to beat.

Sorry, I have no experience with the Jacobs keyless industrial chucks. I do like the 14N Super Chuck but that is a keyed one.

Thanks Mikey,

That's what I figured. The Rohm just won't be a polished as the Albrecht. I was looking at a 1/8-5/8 chuck and the Rohm will save me more than $200.

Thanks
Gary

I've got a 5/8" keyless Bison that I use on the TS for the lathe. I scored it for $56 new shipped. For the mill I was on a budget as I purchased a lot of things in a short time so I just got a 1/2" GMT integrated R8 chuck when it was on sale.