Rotary table disengagement problems

Monk

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi. I've got a G1049 8 inch RT clone. The parts lists etc look the same (as does the SouthBend 1367) so I'm assuming they work the same. When I unlock and turn the adjustment ring/shaft clockwise as instructed, the table will not disengage and freewheel. Am I missing something (an adjustment)? This is my first project on the table, and I'm trying to center a fixture I made to hold the workpiece. Any help of suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Thanks, Billy, but I've done all that. The shaft rotates to the right about an 1/8th turn and stops positively, but the table doesn't free up from the screw. Any other suggestions before I remove the table to see what's going on. Thanks again, though.

That ring with the lever on it is supposed to push the worm off like an eccentric would. Looks like a tear down is your only option at this point. ------ "Billy G"

if you're gonna tear it down complete I would remove your handle and all it's parts first just to see if something is slipping or missing. My 10" Phase II has a small keyway and a pin in the assembly and a screw adjustment for the amount you turn the worm sleeve. That MIGHT be your answer and you would be on your way for tear down anyway. Easier than removing the table if it's not necessary. Always something----it's called education GOOD LUCK
dickr