Rpc simple design unbalanced

Rev. Mike

Registered
Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
4
Hello Mike
If I would build this exact setup what size would the fuse's need to be and the Amp for the coil need to be? I guess I need to let you know my motor is 208 V as well as you said this was for. Thanks
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
1,130
the motor fuses would depend on the hp rating of the motor
but as a rule of thumb is fusing is about 10 amps per hp
the control fuses are 1 amp
 

rwm

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
2,285
Basic question: I don't understand how this is "rotary"? It looks like you box starts and runs 3 phase motors with no moving parts? What is the idler motor?
Robert
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
1,130
Basic question: I don't understand how this is "rotary"? It looks like you box starts and runs 3 phase motors with no moving parts? What is the idler motor?
Robert
Hi Robert,
technically it is a static converter, but few would understand the difference.
the rotary part comes when you couple the starting box, with an idler motor.
when the idler motor is running, it provides the 3rd leg of power that is lacking in most residential service
this 3rd leg, in conjunction with the 2 power company supplied legs, can be used to run 3 phase motors

my stater box, just gets the 3 phase motor spinning, quickly :grin:
 

Rev. Mike

Registered
Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
4
10 amp fuses would suffice, for the motor fuses
Would this Contactor "AC Contactor AC220V Coil 12A 3 Pole Phase NO Normal Open +1 NO Switch CJX2-D1210" work for a 208 V 1/3 hp 3 ph motor to make this setup and with his setup do I still need a idler motor also? Thanks
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
1,130
Would this Contactor "AC Contactor AC220V Coil 12A 3 Pole Phase NO Normal Open +1 NO Switch CJX2-D1210" work for a 208 V 1/3 hp 3 ph motor to make this setup and with his setup do I still need a idler motor also? Thanks
You can start a 3 phase motor with this set up.
An idler motor would increase the potential of the 3 phase circuit.
Without an idler you lose a portion of the motors hp rating
 

markba633csi

Registered
Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
4,566
I think it would be good to point out that a static phase converter and a rotary phase converter are both methods of running 3-phase equipment (motors) from a single phase power line. The static method usually allows only about 2/3 horsepower with any given motor load. In other words, a 1 hp motor running on a static phase converter will only deliver about 2/3 horsepower.
The rotary phase converter is more efficient but of course it is more expensive.
mark
 

tjmlack

Registered
Registered
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
4
Hi Mike,
Would you tell me where you bought the momentary start button (DPST switch) with both contacts NO that you show in your wiring schematic?
Thanks,
Tony
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock