Safety While Using The Engine Lathe

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
I haven't seen this subject come up.
I was watching a Suburban Tool-Don Bailey, video this morning. Don was doing a series on chasing a thread on the lathe.
Now, this guy has been a master machinist most of his life. He knows what he is doing.
Yet, he is wearing a shop coat with long sleeves, a wedding ring and a watch.
He is working at the lathe, filing over the moving chuck.

I have a small fraction of his lathe time and I am cringing every time I see him reach over a moving chuck.
I'm a certified range safety officer. I haven't been out to our range for quite some time. My point is, the guys that got my attention were the guys with the most experience. Handling firearms while guys are down range setting up targets or breaking some safety rule that is just not a good idea. When I dealt with the situation I would usually hear something like, "I've been handling firearms all my life, don't worry about me."

I think sometimes we get a bit too comfortable and grow confident. That's when we get bit.
I have a lot of respect for a lathe. Before I turn it on I always look at the chuck and my set-up.
I hope some of our fellow hobby machinists take the same precautions when stepping up to a machine tool. They can be deadly.

Some of the old timers that I knew back in the day learned to file left handed, I suspect that the reason being was overhead driven line shaft machines; I am reminded of it when I use my 9" Monarch lathe.