Screw Bluing Fixture (unfinished)

Nick01

Registered
Registered
So im putting together another tool based off clicksprings video on youtube...heres todays progress.

The ferrule was turned from a 5/8 brass plumbing flare, and mounted to the lathe with a matching male threaded insert. The internal threads were then turned down.

The handle is 1" OD oak turned down to match the ferrules OD. The hardest part was getting the taper on the handle to match the one in the ferrule without a great way to measure it.

It was stained red mahogany and will be laquered tomorrow when I turn it a few brothers for future use.
20160801_192229.jpg 20160801_191408.jpg 20160801_142612.jpg

20160801_142553.jpg

Looks good, Nick! Thank you for sharing it with us. I really like the flare nut turned into a ferrule (pun intended). :D

Thanks Randall, I'm still very new to machining so it's a learning process for sure.
Today I spent some more time on the project....

I cut a piece of 1/4 x 3" flat bar stock down about 2" long, cleaned up the edges on the mill and sanded the face down with 320 grit.
image.jpeg

Next I layed out the positions for the holes to be drilled and secured it on parallel bars in the mill. Even got to use my home-made scribe!! First time!!!
image.jpeg

I drilled out the first set of holes using an 1/8" center drill, then opened them up to the proper size before moving onto the next.
image.jpeg

And I got some practice on the precision end of things as well just to push myself along....this one's kinda blurry as it's taken through a loupe.
image.jpeg

After the holes were all drilled I cleaned up the burrs...and lucky me, one of the holes I couldn't get started with the center drill came out on the back side all wobbly...
image.jpeg

I tried re-drilling it-didn't work
I tried drilling it again from the back side-didn't work
I tried using a 45 degree countersink to touch up the surface-didn't work
Fail.