Semi-universal dividing head

And I am on a 8520, but was looking at the 4 and 5 inch units. I hadn't considered a drive system for some reason, even tho' I had seen a setup on youtube that had a driven setup. I began looking at the BS-0 size / style and have started reading / learning and then this thread "popped up" so it's almost perfect timing!

Thanks for sharing the knowledge.

Quality machine has the smaller one listed too. They will work with you on the price if you deal with them direct without going thru eBay.

I have a TM*,(Tool Master brand),6" BS-1. I think it may be made in China. The number stamping on the protractor could be better but then I'm 1/2 blind. Mine has a MT3 in the spindle which suits me as my mill/drill has MT3 as well. I have no problem turning the handle a few times 40:1 doesn't take long. Has the indexing holes at 15* as standard. Came with three plates, tailstock and dog. I use the chuck that came with my rotary table. For the price I think it is a bargain and it is smooth and a pleasure to use. I did have to mill the horizontal mounting slots and the table keys a bit as the spacing was for a table with M 14 slots and mine is M 12.
I would dearly love a BS-2 but just too far above my pay grade.
34_40,
I've attached a booklet with information on the B&S BS-0, BS-1 and BS-2 which I hope will be of use.

Attachments

• B&S Type Dividing Head.pdf
    8.2 MB · Views: 38
Last edited:
I have a BS0, it's described as semi universal. The worm can be disengaged and there is a plate and pin for direct indexing behind the threaded spindle nose. No shaft for external gears. Mine is marked Taiwan. I bought it about 10 years ago so perhaps they are not all the same. It has a BS9? taper, almost but not quite MT2.

Reactions: jcp
I
34_40,
I've attached a booklet with information on the B&S BS-0, BS-1 and BS-2 which I hope will be of use.

Thank You so much! I've saved it and will digest (read) it later tonite! That's very nice of you. Thanks Again.