Seneca Falls Motor Spindle Bearing Reconditioning

bigbeninlondon

Registered
Registered
Hey All,
I'm pretty new to machining in general (in semester 4 at my community college for manual machining) and recently acquired an old Seneca Falls lathe.
The lathe was shown to be fully functioning when I purchased it, and everything moves smoothly and the ways don't have any damage so hopefully everything is still tight as far as tolerances.
I'm starting out by just trying to clean all of the gunk off of the machine and I've broken down the cone pulley to clean all of the old sawdust and grease. However, I've run into these bearings that I'd like to clean and possibly repack and was wondering the best way to do it - I don't want to ruin something while I'm trying to rejuvenate it. :)
Does anyone have any advice on the best way to deal with these bearings? Do they need to be pressed out? Is it too much to bother with? They have grease fittings so should I just pump new grease into them until the old grease is forced out?

Also, any other information you may be able to provide about this old lathe that you think might be useful would also be welcome.

Thanks for any advice!

Attachments

• 20230320_113445.jpg
    20230320_113445.jpg
    491 KB · Views: 7
  • 20230320_113559.jpg
    20230320_113559.jpg
    610.8 KB · Views: 8
  • 20230320_113526.jpg
    20230320_113526.jpg
    522.9 KB · Views: 8
  • 20230320_113454.jpg
    20230320_113454.jpg
    250.4 KB · Views: 6
Most newer bearing cartridges can be removed from the housing and replaced. I'm not sure the ones you have are new enough do do this, but here's a link to a short video showing how it's done if it's possible. The slots may not be just as pictured in this demonstration, but they will be 180* apart.