Serious drill bit purchase help!

GunsOfNavarone

Registered
Registered
So I am new to machining...a couple years. I guess I always took drill bits for granted...and to me, Dewalts were great. Much has changed in the last couple years. I needed metric, the 135 degree, some stubbies, misc center drill mills...it's just getting crazy. Letter size, wire size, screw machine, jobber...How many damn kind of drill bits are there (rhetorical) Today I needed a 5.75mm....found a (I think it was a 15/64?) Dewalt, stuck in in my mill and I can't even call it run out....it was just....bent? Dear lord! It's wobble was probably a mm!
This brings me to my next purchase and I could use some direction. I want "drill bits" I can use on MILL and LATHE. I want a full set (like 115 piece or more) I don't want junk (I like Drill Hog and Norseman, but I'm sure there are MANY I am unaware of.) I realize there will be one offs I still need in the future, I just felt dead end today even with the 100+ drill bits I have. I mostly work with mild steel and (machining) stainless. I'd LIKE to keep it under $300, bit there is wiggle room.
I appreciate your guys' wealth of knowledge, that's why I'm here.
:teacher:

A drill bit is not for drilling precision holes. If precision is needed, you drill slightly undersize, then use a reamer to get the hole to final dimension. Yeah, MORE tooling to buy! Let's see...there are straight reamers, spiral reamers, tapered reamers, adjustable reamers... :surrender:

I really don't work within the tolerance where I'll need to undersize/ream. Just want a set that can handle the task at hand. I have a Black Oxide set from Dewalt that are MUCH straighter than the large "gold" Dewalt set.
I'm looking at these...
DrillHog Cobalt

Last edited: