Setting up Bridgeport Mill with VFD

Cisco2017

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,

I am working on this project for my father he is a machinist by trade. I on the other hand am a Automotive Technician with a background on European vehicles. I do have some experience in using both the Mill and the Lathe because I took machine shop in high school. My dad picked up a Bridgeport Mill from his work and I have been tasked with getting it operational in his garage.

I will be using this tread to ask questions and to show my progress on this project.

First off I am planning on using a VFD from automation direct. My dad's house electrical set up is as follows. 200amp service into the main with a 60amp feeding the garage subpanel on 8awg wires. From the subpanel I wanted to run a dedicated circuit to the VFD that will receive 1phase 220v in with 220v 3 phase output to the mill. The original harness that is attached to the mill currently tagged as 14/4 (4 wires/ 14awg).

My first question is can anyone help me understand the voltage and amperage requirement plate?

From what I am understanding is the mill is rated at 2hp with 3hp intermediate duty. Should I go with the 2hp VFD in the image or should I get a 3hp rated one?

Also I will be building a VFD enclosure, what gauge wire do you recommend running from the sub panel to the VFD?

Also if this is the only load on the circuit what amperage rating do you recommend? By looking at the full load amps sticker it appears that the most this machine will draw would be about 7.1amp.

Thank you in advance for your help. I will keep updating as the project progresses 20170711_184923.jpg20170711_184943.jpgVFD for mill.PNG

I would go with a 3 hp VFD. So far, I have had good results with these :http://dealerselectric.com/L510-203-H1-N.asp