Shaky start

Aukai

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
But made a couple of stupid simple spacers. Great learning for sure though. Faced, drilled, threaded both ends. Learning parting, my squaring may be off, a couple things to try, not totally flat parting. I still need to learn chamfering, I needed to make a clearance cut to clear the radius of the bracket. I also made a threaded punch 1/4 20 pointed gizmo to mark the radiator support for drilling. Learning here is great for the beginner/ total novice.

Mike, you made them and they work, right? A lot of guys can't do what you just did.

What kind of issues are you having with parting? Aluminum parts like butter but parting anything requires you to do some things:
  • The tool needs to be sharp. If you use a carbide tool it can require more feed force because they are not that sharp. Brazed carbide is a little better and can be honed sharp. HSS is even sharper and easier to feed and maintain.
  • The tool needs to be on center; not high, not low but dead on center.
  • The tool needs to be perpendicular to the work piece. The easiest way to do that is to bring the blade up to the face of the chuck and align the blade to the face. Or you can face a piece of stock accurately on both ends and put one end on the chuck face and the other on the body of the blade and square it up that way. Lots of ways to do it but these are quick and easy.
  • Get your speed right. I find that if I go too slow it takes more force to feed the tool in and that causes the body of the blade to bend. I suggest parting aluminum at about 400 rpm at least, then feed the tool in and apply a bit of pressure to get it started. Once it begins to cut, feed so that you feel a slight resistance to the feed. It should feel like you're feeding just hard enough to keep the blade continuously cutting.