Sharp corner square steel tube?

Ststephen7

Registered
Registered
Hi all,

I have learned so much from this site (and a few others), thank you all for participating and sharing your knowledge and experience.

I am in no way a machinist. I have a little 'metal shop' in my garage, consisting of a drill press, small plasma cutter, Miller 135 welder, and oxy/acetylene torch, an old Rockwell 6x48 belt sander, 4x6 bandsaw, and a Miller Econotig. I am a self taught welder, which, I think actually means I don't 'really' know how to weld.

I have made a bunch of things to put in an Etsy shop, and sell at Craft fairs, however... my pride and joy are the Mjolnir I've made. I hope I will be able to post some pictures.

Anyway, I have accepted an actual job, creating a replacement base for a 10' long (and very expensive) Florence Knoll Credenza. The man who owns it lives a few blocks away and met me at a local craft fair.

So far, taking my time, I have been able to reproduce all of the part of the base, except... the rails (I'm calling them rails) are 1" square tube (.062 wall) with SHARP CORNERS (no radius on the corners). I am not able to find this stock anywhere, and I was hoping someone here could help me out, so I can finish up my first commission and actually get paid. I need close to 30' of it, or 'only 30' for those of you who actually buy a lot of steel.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

Steve

IMG_0001.JPG

IMG_0005.JPG

IMG_0011.JPG

IMG_0289.JPG

IMG_1763.JPG

Hi Steve,

It's hard to know exactly how the material is being used, but would aluminum square tube work for your project?

You can get it with sharp internal and external corners.

Ill try to find some sources and post back.

-brino

EDIT: Here's a supplier in your state: https://www.bloomet.com/aluminum

Last edited:
Thank you for these ideas!