Shars Live Center

Iron-Iceberg

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
In general I have been happy with Shars products although I have never used that particular product. If it doesn't live up to expectations they will make it right.

I consider them at the upper end of the import spectrum.

Do you really need all the interchangeable points? For my 9" lathe, all that I use is a CNC style extended point center.

Me personally , purchase a good set of Royals or Skodas . I'm not a big fan of Shars for much of anything , but I depend on tools for a living . Depending on what weight you plan on putting between centers sends me away from such cheap tooling . The answer is always , " buy what you need " .

I had a Skoda #4 MT set at my shop that I sold; I really hated to leave it there!

I had a Skoda #4 MT set at my shop that I sold; I really hated to leave it there!

I have a MT5 Skoda set on the bay right now . Little big for me lately ! :grin:

I have a similar interchangeable set from China off eBay, paid around $90 for it. It was an impulse buy. Honestly, it sets still unopened in my lathe tool box. I use a dedicated bull nose center, cnc center and a Chinese keyless chuck. Maybe someday I'll find a use for it.

As mentioned above, maybe stick with one-use centers as a lot of the interchangeable stuff is a jack of all trades but master of none.

There are many listings of them on eBay, so they can't be all bad.

Bruce

I think you would do just fine with that set, if you do not want to accumulate a bunch of other centers. One important factor is the diameter of the center so it does not interfere with your tool post, this set has a 1.85" diameter which is fairly compact. It does not have an extended point which is handy for small diameter work.