Sherline Rear Mount Cutoff Tool Holder Problem

Al D.

Registered
Registered
I am brand new to machine tools and bought my first lathe and mill a few days ago, both Sherline. The lathe is a 4000. I bought some accessories for it including a Rear Mount Cut Off Tool Holder part number 3018. Either I am not seeing something or the tool sits too high. The blade of the cutter goes right over the top of the aluminum rod I am practicing on. Did I but the wrong part for my lathe?

Thanks for any help.

Al D.

Yes but the blade of the cutter goes right over the work. Here is a picture of what it looks like.

Looks like you can only part off larger work :lmao:

Either they shipped the wrong tool holder, you ordered the wrong tool holder, it is assembled upside down, or you're going to have to machine about a 1/2 inch off of the bottom.

If it is assembled correctly and you have the tools, I would trim the bottom to fit. It could be faced off in a 4-jaw chuck if you don't have a mill.

On my Sherline I have a spacer block to raise the headstock , that tool holder probably is for the spacer block. you can always buy one to turn larger prodjects.

Looks like you can only part off larger work :lmao:

Either they shipped the wrong tool holder, you ordered the wrong tool holder, it is assembled upside down, or you're going to have to machine about a 1/2 inch off of the bottom.

If it is assembled correctly and you have the tools, I would trim the bottom to fit. It could be faced off in a 4-jaw chuck if you don't have a mill.
Jim,

I did get a Sherline mill with the deal I got. I was thinking it would make a great first mill project. My stuff did come with a tool I think is called a fly cutter. From what I have read it's the best tool to take some material off the bottom. I wonder if I got the tool holder to use with a riser?

Since you have your sherline mill, I say mill it off. If you cut too much by accident, you can add shims under it.