Single Lip Cutter Grinder - U2 Collet Type

Don B

Active User
Registered
This post is for people who may come across the opportunity to purchase a "Single Lip Cutter Grinder - U2 Collet Type" and wonder about their usefulness.
I was given a Kulman Grinder by a good friend it is essentially the same as a Deckel Single Lip Cutter Grinder, unfortunately it only came with one U2 collet, the price of these collets is ridiculous to say the least, the solution I came up with was a U2 TO ER20 adapter, it's an inexpensive way to make the grinder much more useful.
The other problem I had with the grinder was the belt didn't last long and was going to be a little pricey, I was unfortunate enough to have owned a 1992 ford tempo that liked to eat fuel pumps, as it turns out the O ring that seals the pump from the gas tank makes a good belt replacement, I've been using the grinder for 8 months now with this O ring as a belt and it's working just fine, the o ring measures .210 x 16 7/16 (inches) I'm not sure of the material, I suspect it's possibly neoprene.
This type of grinder wouldn't be my first choice as my one and only tool grinder but can certainly make a good useful addition to a home shop.
I have used mine for sharpening center drills, twist drills "4 Facet Method", carbide boring bars and so on, and they really shine when a custom cutter is needed, the one picture is an engraving cutter I made when I was making my Grandson a Christmas ornament.

U2 TO ER20 01.jpg U2 TO ER20 02.jpg U2 TO ER20 03.jpg Belt.jpg SFC.jpg

Great idea and great execution.
The 4NS collets for my Gorton/Lars 375-4 cutter grinder are similarly expensive and your solution deserves serious consideration.

Thanks for the post.

Great idea and great execution.
The 4NS collets for my Gorton/Lars 375-4 cutter grinder are similarly expensive and your solution deserves serious consideration.

Thanks for the post.

Thank you and your welcome.