Single Point Threading First Time

Kroll

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Guys my up coming project which is stud for my tool post.So I will need to cut threads on both ends of the 9/16 rod.Ok never done any threading before so over last few days been watching You Tube on how to thread.After watching several I am planning on piece of aluminum first then onto the real piece of material.But after watching those You tubes about setting up doing what is needed and I think I understand but I came across another You Tube that makes threading look easy and no blood psi medicine.The You Tube is by Joe Pieczynski where you turn the threading tool upside down and run lathe in reverse,and you don't adjust the compound slide you only adjust the cross slide.OK this is fantastic,but I'm a newbie and this seems to easy so I was wondering if other have tried his method of threading.Did you like or dislike threading in reverse?Pro/Cons if there is any?If you haven't seen it here's a link

I'm thinking it might be easier to do it first the "regular" way so you can see more clearly how it's cutting- ?
Try it both ways and see which one you like better

The only con I can think of is the lack of visibility of the cut as it progresses. You get used to it, I imagine.